My Experiences at Collaborate 10 Conference   Leave a comment

Collaborate 10 Technology and Applications Forum for the Oracle Community was held in April 18-22, 2010 in Mandalay Bay Convention Center of Las Vegas. My experiences at the conference started with the IOUG reception on Sunday April 18 where I was supposed to maintain the IOUG RAC SIG table.

After the IOUG reception, Oracle ACE program senior manager Victoria Lira  hosted Oracle ACE dinner in Sunday evening, where for the first time I met the fellow Oracle ACEs from around the world. See the  photos from my other post “Meet Oracle ACEs at Collaborate 10”.

The official conference  started on Monday April 19. My efforts focused on hosting RAC SIG birds of feather panel and my conference presentation “Building Oracle Grid with Oracle VM on Blade servers and iSCSI storage”. At the RAC SIG birds of feather panel, we had a good discussion on Oracle 11g R2 upgrade and RAC best practices and my Oracle presentation was very well received.

My second day schddule was very full: starting  the RAC performance tuning  bootcamp at  8:00 am; my conference presentation “RAC Performance Monitoring and   Enterprise Manager“at 11:45am, and Oracle RAC Customer Panel at 10:30am and the Performance Tuning RAC Environments Boot Camp: Expert Panel at 4:30pm. Thank Arup Nanda who not only covered his own session, also covered Riyaj Shamsudeen’s session, who was stuck in Denmark due to the Icelandic volcanic cloud. My presentation on RAC performance tuning using Enterprise Manager was also a success where the room was almost full with 60-70 people in audiences. In the  RAC SIG customer panel three customers Dell IT, Bank of America and GE healthcare  shared their stories about how to use Oracle RAC and Grid to consolidate their  database infrastructure. At the end of day, I hosted the RAC tuning expert panel where the six top RAC tuning experts:   Arup Nanda,  Mike Ault, John Kanagaraj,  Syamal Bandyopadhyay, and Ian Remedios  shared their expertise and skills with the  a good number of audiences.

My Wednesday’s schedule  was a little bit relax. After I gave my  third , also the last  presentation “Provisioning Oracle RAC in a Virtulaized Environment, Using Oracle Enterprise Manager” at 10:30-11:30 am, then I  rushed to participate “  Oracle E-Business Suite Grid Customer Advisory Board” , a special meeting invited by Steven Chan and Mark MacDonald, Oracle E-Business suite and Oracle Server Technologies | Grid Competency Center development team. In the meeting, we were given the technology briefings about Oracle E-Business new development projects. Due to this  two hour long meeting, I was not able to attend the Oracle RAC SIG expert panel from 1:00pm-2:00pm, but Kamakhya Singh (KP)  working with  four panelists Mark Farnham, Mike Ault, Markus  Michalewicz and Syamal Bandyopadhyay made another successful RAC panel discussion session.  Until then I realized that all my duties on IOUG Collaborate 10 were completed successfully. What a big relief! I was so happy and eager to attend other people’s session to learn something from the conference. I was able to catch Ahmed Alomari’s presentation”Maximizing E-Business Suite Performance“. That was an amazing presentation which lasted more that 2 hrs: 4:00pm-6:10pm. I hearned a lot of new tips to tune the Oracle E-Bsuiness suite  on all the layers.  

The Wednesday’s  party  started around 7:00pm. Although the dinner and the band was a kind of disappointing comparing to the Collaborate 09’s party last year or Oracle Openworld 09’s party. But  it was really great to  take e a break from three days’ busy schedule and meet friends and enjoyed a bottle of cool beer.  The following photo was taken through the big glass window of Mandalay Bay Convention Center  at 6:30pm Wednesday April 21, 2010.

The next two  photos were taken during and after the party.

At Thursday noon time,  IOUG  presented  the closing Session “”the Greate Debate: Should I Stay (10G, MySQL) or Should I Go (11GR2+)? ” It was a fun and educational debate. Here is the photo taken on this debate:

It has been a greate conference. And hope to see the  friends at Oracle OpenWorld 2010 as well as Collaborate 11.

Cheers,

Kai

Leave a Reply

