IOUG Spotlight for March 2016   Leave a comment

Each month, the Independent Oracle Users Group ( IOUG)  spotlights  and give an inside look at their life.  It is  a great honor that  IOUG picked me for the March 2016 IOUG Member Spotlight as this link: http://www.ioug.org/page/ioug-member-spotlight. Here are some of contents from the link:

IOUG Member Spotlight

kai_yu.jpg

Join IOUG each month as we shine the spotlight on one of our members. Learn fun facts about what inspires our members, what they do for fun and how they got started in their careers.

March 2016 – Kai Yu

What’s your current job and title?

I am a Senior Principal Engineer at Dell Enterprise Solutions Engineering. My responsibilities include architecting, implementing enterprise database solutions and cloud based solutions.

What is your favorite moment of your career so far?

Over two decades, I have worked on various technology and enjoyed every moment when my work was put into products or engineering solutions. One particular example was that in 2008, I put together a database consolidation model and performed the performance studies that helped a customer consolidate a few dozens of databases from multiple small IT sites into a centralized Oracle Grid architecture in the data center. For this I received the “Customer Experience Legend Award,” the most prestigious award from the Dell Senior Executives.

What was your childhood dream job?

Mathematician or aerospace engineer, but ended up computer science career which I found more interesting.

How long have you been a member of IOUG? What’s your best experience thus far?

Since 2008, when I started to get involved with the IOUG Oracle RAC SIG. Since then I have really enjoyed engaging with IOUG activities such as running a few IOUG technology boot camps at COLLABORATE conferences. One of my best experience was to co-found the IOUG Cloud Computing SIG. I got a chance to work with many great talents and industry experts to establish this important platform that is dedicated to sharing expertise and experiences on Cloud Computing.

What advice do you wish someone had given you when you first started your career as a technologist?

I wish someone had given me some advice about the direction which technology was moving to and how to better pursue the technical career.

What features or products are on your wish list and why?

As SSD (Solid State Drive) is getting more and more adapted as the database storage, I would like to see that database systems introduce some new architecture and features that are specially designed to better leverage SSDs great performance.

What is the biggest technical and/or business challenge you have faced, and how did you overcome it?

It can be challenging to implement some of the latest technology for business. One particular case was implementing a cloud service POC system using a beta release of Oracle Enterprise Manager 12c Cloud Management.  Luckily, I worked with the Oracle EM12c engineering team very closely and we were able to overcome many technical challenges and successfully complete the POC. As a result, we presented the POC at Oracle OpenWorld 2012 when Oracle released Oracle EM12c Cloud Control.

How do you stay active? How did you discover that activity?

I enjoy travelling to different places around the world to learn different culture and making friends in the global technology community. Besides that, my favorite activity is swimming. Although I’ve liked swimming since my childhood, I really found myself passionate about it when I learned how to build the endurance for a distance swimming.

What’s your favorite film? Any memorable moments? Any favorite quotes?

The 2014 film: “The Theory of Everything”

A favorite quote: “There should be no boundaries to human endeavor. However bad life may seem, where there is life, there is hope.”

What piques your passion in technology?

When I was in a software developer role for more than 20 some years, I was fascinated by Oracle Database technology. Ten years ago, after moving to the enterprise engineering role, I found myself a new interest on infrastructure that Oracle database is based on such as Linux OS, servers, storage and networking. These experiences allow me to see the big picture of computing technology and how these technologies are moving forward—that is truly fascinating.

LinkedIn: Kai Yu

Twitter: ky_austin1

Blog: https://kyuoracleblog.wordpress.com/

Posted March 3, 2016 by kyuoracleblog in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

